PLN for SID/PID Teachers?

22 Feb

PLN = Personal Learning Network and it is the latest buzz word buzzing around. Or at least it’s the latest thing I’m running into when reading about teachers who are into technology and all the latest, greatest stuff.

I’m still trying to figure out what it is, exactly. It’s not exactly cut and dried. Funnily enough, the concept is older than most of the technology that is spawning a lot of the conversation. But there is some good sites helping to guide teachers on how to make one. And David Warlick seems to have the authoritative site on the subject.

So do you have one? Do you need one? Patrick Woessner does a good job of describing the current state of affairs in education. Few people know what it is, let alone have one. In a way, I do have one in the form of the folks in my blogroll and RSS feed. But I feel like it’s not very tightly knit. I’m beginning to see where Twitter might be helpful. But again, there’s that info overload, because of my various interests.

I joined the Classroom 2.0 and there’s some promise there. I invite you all to look around and let me know what you think.

View my page on Classroom 2.0

What really got me thinking about this was a recent wave of comments from colleagues who have referenced the isolation involved in teaching students with severe disabilities. Like our students, we are often in need of the greatest support but are segregated off from the greater teacher community. We can join in extra curricular concerns (if we have time) but we rarely get to connect with others who also do what we do. It’s rare that there is more than one SID/PID teacher in the building and some districts may only have 3 in the whole system! So providing support and ways to get support becomes a real challenge but the technology is there if we want to use it.

Oh well, back to work on finishing up the GAA!

3 Responses to “PLN for SID/PID Teachers?”

  1. Sue Waters February 22, 2009 at 11:16 pm #

    Thanks for linking to my post on PLNs. The main reason why I encourage it is because it is better for teachers to experience the learning from using the tool first for themselves before using with students. That way they have a better understanding of what they need to do to successfully implement.

    Off course the other benefit is they build up a network of people who willing share and provide assistance.

  2. Daniel Dage February 24, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    I agree, Sue and thanks for having something out there for me to link to and think about! It is a positive experience just hobnobbing with like-minded folks who are also engaged in similar ventures.

  3. Margo Dill February 25, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    Dear Daniel,
    I have an author, Kim Hix, on my blog today. (My blog is called READ THESE BOOKS AND USE THEM). She wrote a book called NO ONE IS PERFECT AND YOU ARE A GREAT KID. It is based on her son, Zack, who is diagnosed with OCD/Tourettes Disorder/ADHD/PANDAS. The book is for kids, but it can also be shared between adults and children. I am encourging people to go to my site today and ask Kim questions or tell her their own stories.

    Thanks for your time,
    Margo Dill
    blog– http://margodill.com/blog/

Comments are closed.