The long, hard road

3 Jun

This year was stressful for everyone, and I am SO glad school is out and over.  However, the long, hot, hard road of the job search starts in earnest.

And my first real rejection.  Ouch.

It’s not so much a rejection as an acceptance of someone else.  In my interviews, I’ve always felt pretty comfortable.  I have a good track record, I have good things that have happened, I have stuck it out and put in a lot of the hard work.  But there are people who are or have been in it longer or have more to show for it.    I guess I should feel good that I made the interview round of the process.  There are a lot of applications I have out there where I did not make it at all.  I try to be positive but there is a tightness in my gut that wonders just how long and hot this summer is going to be.    I really thought I had this one in the bag as I thought I had answered everything to perfection and beyond.  But someone better came in.  Or at least I hope that is the case.

So I put out a few more applications to places for things that were not necessarily my first choice.  Sometimes taking a second choice is okay, and I have certainly done that before.    But I don’t know what to do if that avenue is closed off.  I like teaching and can’t think of anything I would rather do.  But maybe I do need to think about other things I could do and widen the search.  While special educators are still in need, for the first time in 10 years there might be more people looking than positions that need to be filled.

Are there really suddenly more highly qualified people out there?  I don’t know, but it is going to be a wilder ride than I might have thought.

D.

4 Responses to “The long, hard road”

  1. Sue June 7, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    Move to Australia.
    We have a shortage of special education teachers out here : -)

  2. Liz Ditz June 21, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Hi Daniel,

    I wonder how the job search is going?

    I sent you an email about reprinting an older post on our new blog.

  3. Candace July 11, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I live in Indiana and we continue to have a shortage of special education teachers. Are you wanting to continue moderate/severe?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 40 Special Education blogs - June 21, 2010

    […] with special-needs children, both as an educator and as a parent. Some notable posts include The Long, Hard Road, 10 Years by the Numbers, and What is a Good Teacher […]

Comments are closed.

