My GAA Video Rant

6 Dec

Trying to embed from Teachertube, but for some reason it won’t let me.  I linked in a prior post, but here’s my Teachertube channel again.

We all had to have collection period 1 spit shined and polished today.  What an ordeal!  It’s such a pain to grab some sort of mastery level from the air.  My students need prompting and assistance 100% of the time because they are profoundly intellectually disabled 100% of the time!   But the local people reviewing my GAA won’t let me say that because it sounds too snarky.

Anyway, Youtube to the rescue (it’s blocked at my school so here’s the TT link).

6 Responses to “My GAA Video Rant”

  1. Anonymous December 10, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    I couldn’t have said ANY of this ANY better! You’ve certainly stirred it all back up within me and I dare back down!

    GRRRRRR!

  2. spedlaw2 December 10, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Hi,

    I just wanted to alert you and your readers to my special education law blog at:
    http://specialeducationlawblog.blogspot.com/

    Thanks,

    Jim Gerl

  3. Anony December 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    I love that, thats wonderful! The GAA is horrible and should be thrown away all together, all it proves is that teachers know how to put together a portfolio . Ridiculous!

  4. jt December 13, 2008 at 12:37 am #

    Thanks so much for this!!!!!! You have articulated my frustrations!!!!

    I just finished my first collection period for my 7 students ( grades 6, 7 and 8) in Washington State. It sounds like our states have very similar ways of appeasing GWB.

  5. kathygump December 14, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    The Special Education Dog and Pony Show presented by NCLB. The real kick in the pants for me is that Questar is located in Minnesota, scored by their local residents. Has anyone looked at Minnesota’s Alternative Assessment for it’s SWD’s? And they get paid megabucks for this!

  6. Daniel Dage December 18, 2008 at 12:58 am #

    Glad to see the GAA and NCLB have such universal popularity…NOT!LOL! Think the new administration can fix this mess? I hope some sanity will be restored in my lifetime.

    Right now, it makes homeschooling look more attractive than ever!

    Thank oyu all for stopping by and commenting…and for putting up with my generic response to comments. Not very differentiating of me!
    D.

Comments are closed.

