That’s kind of scary…

8 Apr

Wow.  The story of Kathleen Seidel being subpoenaed is kind of scary, especially in light of what  I’m trying to do hereLiz has been all over the story coverage and it is racing through the blogging community, as it should.  It isn’t just about autism, it’s about freedom of expression within the blogging community and the ability of some over zealous person or attorney to reach out try to silence, harass and intimidate an individual simply on the basis of that expression.

I noticed a lot of folks on my blogroll were named.

Every blogger should be standing beside Kathleen, and I’m proud to be one of them.  It’s about community, and this is simply unwarranted and vicious.  We need to be free to disagree and voice our disagreements in a free and open exchange.

Kathleen is an educator and all educators need to mindful of this attempt to do what all despots do: enshroud the populace in ignorance.  As educators, ignorance is our sworn enemy.  It is at the root of every other war on the planet, so few wars are as important as the one we fight.

As for me, I will keep fighting in my own small way in my own small space.

dd

4 Responses to “That’s kind of scary…”

  1. Liz Ditz April 8, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    Thank, Dick.

    I am one of the 100+ bloggers mentioned in item 5 of the subpoena.

    I am keeping a running list of responses to the Seidel subpoena at I Speak of Dreams. I’ve added this post.

    If you want to meet some interesting and thoughtful people, just use the list as a navigation tool. I’ve certainly met some people new to me.

    I’ve also written a new post, How Long Until Kirby and Olmstead Speak on the Seidel Subpoena?

  2. Liz Ditz April 8, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    Also, I’m looking forward to the new & more open “Life that Chose Me”.

  3. designonpost April 8, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    I’m student teaching in a regular ed class so I’ve been out of the sped loop for a few months now…what’s going on? I’m a little lost. A brief summary would be good. 😉 Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kathleen Seidel Has Received a Sub-Poena: Streisand, Spartacus, Shoemaker, They Start with S and End the Same Way « Holford Watch: Patrick Holford, nutritionism and bad science - April 8, 2008

    […] Welcome to Grand Rounds – Vol. 4, No. 29 (strong summary) Dick at The Life That Chose Me That’s kind of scary… Alyric at A touch of Alyricism Just call me Barbra – The Streisand Effect Liz of I Speak of Dreams […]

Comments are closed.

