Hang on to your Butts…

4 Sep

Here we go again with the Georgia Alternate Assessment (GAA).

I have no problems admitting that I am sometimes a condescending prima donna when it comes to all the requirements that we are subjected to. I expect everyone else to toe the line while I sometimes play loose with the rules and have tested limits more than once. Most of the time I’m looking out for the students and sometimes my creative insubordination is in defense of other teachers who may not be able to stand the heat. And I’ve drawn a considerable amount of it during my tenure here. I’m going to try to grit my teeth and accept this bitter pill this year with the understanding that it is only temporary. I’ll be free of this burden soon enough.

We had our GAA meeting at the county office this morning, with another group attending this afternoon. Most of the folks attending this morning were people who had done it last year, which made things go fairly smoothly. Very little has changed from last year. We still have not seen any results from last year’s test and I’ll have to make an appointment with Harry to do so. I think it would be instructive to look at the scores just to get an idea where my activities are as far as meeting or exceeding the standards. I mean if something works, why change it all the way up? There are lots of resources on the Georgia DOE website with more supposed to be added all the time.

I figured out the reason why I’m so rapidly going stale this year here, is because we are too short staffed to go into the community. In the past 7 years, that really was what made the days go by so quickly and kept most of us from going stir crazy. We used to be able to spend 2 hours or so doing jobs or shopping away from the school every morning. Now, I am in the one room with all of these students pretty much all day long. I’m having flash backs of my days teaching children who had behavior disorders in a self-contained setting. The worst behaved kids stuck in one place all day long away from everyone else held no appeal for me, which is precisely why I took this position instead of the EBD position across town. But here I am! And since self-contained EBD no longer truly exists, guess which position is now the hardest of the special ed. jobs to fill and keep filled? Being isolated is a fairly substantial negative in this case. When we were out and about, having our own schedule was a positive. But now, thanks to NCLB, we are having to abide by the regular curriculum and schedule more and more which has actually made the isolation even more acute.

dick

