Parent Input

14 Mar

Charles Fox has graciously shared examples of input statements that nicely illustrate what parents can contribute to the IEP process.  I know teachers might get a bit anxious about having a parent submit such documents (especially when the parent is an attorney) but such input can be an invaluable source of information for next year’s teachers.  His son is transitioning to high school which scares the pants off most parents.  If it don’t, it should.  Information and direction given by a parent should be taken in and digested and used to best serve the student.   After all, that’s sort of why we got into the business in the first place, right?

dick

3 Responses to “Parent Input”

  1. alltogether March 15, 2007 at 12:19 am #

    Right on! I have been thinking about this subject a bunch lately. I was looking at from a different angle of how to motivate parents to input more and more effectively. Thanks.

  2. S. Sutherland March 16, 2007 at 2:04 am #

    Dick,
    I love your site. I have been searching for a site for resources. The area I live is extremely insufficient regarding Autism ( north west Florida). I have an Autitsic grandson and I am in need of finding a parent-kid camp, conferences, any educational experience I can.

  3. Anonymous March 22, 2007 at 12:48 pm #

    Hi Dick,

    I found your Blog recently. It’s a refreshing viewpoint. Unfortunately, my child’s IEP team rolls their eyes when we provide parent input. We bring a brief statement to meetings and politely contribute our input throughout the discussion. Our input is not appreciated and is unwanted by most other team members. Some seem to feel that we have no business asking questions or offering suggestions about our own child.

Comments are closed.

