Answering the Tag: Bloggers who make me think

1 Mar

Part of the deal with Reflective Teacher’s nomination and  Alsoomse I just found out!) was that I had to name 5 other bloggers that make me think. That’s easy enough. The hardest is limiting it to 5 because there are so many who make me think. So here are my nominations for the Thinking Blogger Awards:

1. Kristina Chew is just an outstanding writer, educator and parent. A body can not help but read her without learning something. A parent asked me awhile back about other parent blogs and if I had to recommend just one this would be the one for autism.

2. Liz from I Speak of Dreams has been invaluable to the development of this place through her own blog. She keeps up on all the latest mostly on Learning Disabilities but also disability news in general. For anyone who is looking for the latest in the world of LD, she’s the one to go to.

3. Nickie: You think you’ve got drama? There is no possibility of NOT being inspired by this blogger’s story. Articulate and well-written. Just go and visit.

4. Autism Diva: This was probably the blog that started changing my view of autism the most. She moved my thinking from the whole “victim” mentality towards being more willing to embrace the “differentness” of autism as well as my own autistic-like issues. It’s not all about suffering.
5. John wills Lloyd who I mostly read at Teach Effectively (although you’ll see other blogs of his in the blogroll). The good professor keeps his finger on the pulse of effective teaching practice in special education. He’ll talk about what’s effective as well as point out the junk that is popular but NOT effective. Visual, auditory, kinesthetic/tactile learning anyone?

It doesn’t matter if these folks nominate 5 other folks or not, because they are still worthy of the Thinking Blogger Award.

But they’re supposed to.

I’m just sayin’.

dick


7 Responses to “Answering the Tag: Bloggers who make me think”

  1. mcewen March 1, 2007 at 4:26 pm #

    Three great nominations familiar to me. Now this gives me the opportunity to check out the other two, but I’m confident that you’ve led me to a couple of future regulars.
    Best wishes
    http://whitterer-autism.blogspot.com

  2. Liz Ditz March 1, 2007 at 4:45 pm #

    blush Thanks, Dick!

    Kristina Chew isn’t updating AutismLand anymore, as it is time for Charlie to tell his own story.

    However, she is publishing regularly at AutismVox

  3. Kristina Chew March 1, 2007 at 9:35 pm #

    I’m overwhelmed — and a bit sad to say that I have stopped blogging at Autismland, in order to write my book. I’m still writing on autism at Autism Vox and I’m looking forward to passing onto the honor to 5 more!

    Thank you again,
    Kristina Chew
    autismvox.com

  4. Nobodyknows March 2, 2007 at 5:01 pm #

    Excellent list of thinkers, Dick.

  5. Eric March 5, 2007 at 7:01 am #

    My son is autistic. At no point have I ever thought of him as a victim. But, I will do eveything in my power to help him. The part of his autistic being that I cannot and will not accept, is his inability to undertand things and to be able to communicate. This is , to me, a fundamental right of every human being. Without it, yes their lives can still be lived ok. But with it, how much better?
    I’ve read a fair bit of autism diva, who to me spends far too much time examining nuances surrounding autism, rather than ways to help. JMHO.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Autism Vox » Something To Make You Think - March 2, 2007

    […] many nights to try to tell about Charlie as honestly as I could—-to a close, I was awarded a Thinking Blogger Award as a blogger who makes other think. I am more than grateful to Dick of The Life That Chose Me for […]

  2. Autism Vox » Autismland Wins 2 Blog Awards - April 6, 2007

    […] Central Top 100 Mom Blogs in the “health conditions” category, and as a recipient of a Thinking Blogger Award thanks to The Life That Chose […]

Comments are closed.

