One Year Blogiversary: A Word or Two

22 Jan

 

One year ago I officially became an education blogger.  It really has been a labor of love and I have really enjoyed getting to know other bloggers and readers.  The initial idea for this blog was to help fill in a niche among education/teacher bloggers, mainly dealing primarily with special education and special education policy issues from the point of view of both parent and teacher.  There are many things that impact those in the disability community that others might either not think about or take for granted.  Probably nothing has turned things on their head since the first public law guaranteeing an education to individuals with disabilities as much as No Child Left Behind.  During the past year, I had to take another test, my paras all had to take a test and I am being tested again through the alternate assessment.    I went from being an advocate for high quality and accountability to being a being a bitter enemy against centralized control of education and yet another unfunded mandate.  There’s such a difference between turning my children over to other people in my own community and turning them over to the federal government.  IDEA provides protection from discrimination, but it’s my local district providing the education according to the curriculum and plan we set up on a local level.  But with the weight of the Feds upon us, the needs of the state take precedence over the needs of the individual child.

 

The most popular posts, by far, has been the IEP series that I did.  I might get 150 hit per day, and 100 of those are directed at posts specifically dealing with that series.  The Fleecing article was the first one that really caught a lot of attention thanks to Liz who nominated me for the Skeptic’s Circle.  No other single post has done as much as that one as far as putting me on the map.

 

I often get posts from parents and teachers asking for advice.  I try to do what I can, but I’m still learning the same as everyone else.  I don’t know it all and have learned a lot from the writings of others.  This past year has been a grand adventure and I hope I can continue to be a resource for those in the special education community.  Perhaps I’ll have a little bit more in the way of making a big deal over this place in another year! 

 

Thank you all for stopping by!

 

dick

 

 

2 Responses to “One Year Blogiversary: A Word or Two”

  1. Cathy Griffith January 22, 2007 at 8:16 pm #

    Ha Ha Ha, this is the first time I have laughed about GAA. I found your blog because I was trying to find the GAA entry sheets online. I brought all my GAA stuff home and thought I would be clever and rewrite my entry sheets so someone could read them but discovered I had left the website at school. I guess they may have to settle for my messy handwritten versions. I teach MOID high school students. We are enjoying our American History lessons on the Civil War (I would be thrilled if my students could say Emancipation Proclamation), our Science lessons on biomes and we are “reading” Moby Dick. The Algebra is a stretch, but I certainly don’t want to have my students “left behind”. I have saved you site to favorites and plan to visit again soon. I read back to November. I feel your pain. lol

  2. Dick Dalton January 24, 2007 at 8:25 am #

    November is about the time the pain started!LOL! Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be posting more on the GAA as I go through the second collection period. Students with MoID are sort of in the sweet spot of the GAA. You can readily do things that “look” bookish and academic and get a good baseline. The MID students are too high and have no business in the GAA, and the severe kids have a difficult time doing *anything* with profound kids struggling to stay awake sometimes. There are no bargains but it’s good to have a sense of humor about it all.

    dick

Comments are closed.

