Supplying a Laugh Track

26 Oct

This GAA stuff just gets better and better.  I thought I would be managing Taz’s assessment and could devote all my time and energy towards him.  But it’s never that simple, is it?  I’ve actually been assigned another student to head up, as well as being assigned as a consultant on 3 other student committees; Mr. Pyle’s students.  This means I’ll probably have to do them.  Actually, each student has a committee of around 6 people assigned.  The committee has a caseload manager, a facilitator, and a regular education teacher from science, social studies, ELA and math.  The assigned regular ed. teachers are all very, very young and I’m not sure they have any idea what they are in for.  But if they know their Georgia Performance Standards (GPS) that’s all that is important for me at the moment.  Also have a look at their section devoted to severe kids.  If you look very carefully, you’ll notice something: there’s precious little there, aside from the bloody forms and worksheets we have to turn in.  I looked at the samples for high school ELA which are very very few…10th grade.  10th grade?  Who gives a shit about TENTH grade?  We need ELEVENTH GRADE, you stupid ignorant knobs!  11th grade is the grade in which we have to turn in all of those stupid forms!

 

I had this wild idea that it might be useful to have some collaborative space on the internet for all of us to kick ideas around and perhaps even solicit more input from other teachers around the county and even around the state.  I’m not at liberty to use my blog space, and it wasn’t exactly what I had in mind.  But I knew someone on my blogroll had been into this sort of thing.  Sure enough, Reflective Teacher is forever using collaborative tools and technology.  I thought PBwiki would fit the bill, and looked at his.  I got all registered and began editing my first page when the f#$&!&*@ sonic wall slammed shut, blocking access.  So, I’ll be bugging the county IT people about getting us into the 21st century.  We are on a pretty hard lockdown, out here in the sticks.

 

Anyone out there using Tiddlywiki?  I discovered this little gem while on my search for a tool, and see a lot of potential in it.  What I don’t see is a way to add a discussion forum or comment section to it.  Otherwise, it could be just the thing.  We do have a network folder just for all the teachers in the school.  I might throw it out there and see if any of these younger teachers can bring it to heel in serving our purposes.

 

 

And the GAA drama will continue.

 

dick

 

 

2 Responses to “Supplying a Laugh Track”

  1. speedmom November 18, 2006 at 8:40 pm #

    I noticed your comments about the GPS website. I personally know the teachers on assignment to develop this. They are doing a great job but it is taking time. They have quite a few examples to put in but all have to be approved by DOE curriculum department before they can be posted. You can use curriculum from any grade 9-12, because technically, an eleventh grader can take any class while they are in 11th grade. Also, you mentioned the need for a website where teachers can solicit ideas, post and bounce ideas off each other. That is available. It’s in its infancy, but needs more people participating. If you contact jmoreau@doe.k12.ga.us, and give her your e-mail (which will be your user name), she will send you a password so you can log into the doe website and be a part of the message board about the GPS.
    I had to take the GACE today to become highly qualified to teach my severe and profound K-2 students (after teaching 32 years). It is an insult. I only need to become highly qualified in math because they refused to give me credit for the math classes I exempted in college. The college said I knew the material, but DOE doesn’t believe UGA. So to get credit for math, I had to take the general academic concentration, which tested me on history, reading, and science. And to think one of the regular ed teachers at my school is highly qualified to teach my class but I am not.
    Anyway, get that password from Jmoreau and participate in the DOE message board. We all have to get through this somehow this year. I think I’m ready to just do something else that doesn’t require GAA and highly qualified status.

  2. Dick November 19, 2006 at 2:08 pm #

    I also know of Ms. Moreau, and she is an excellent teacher and did the best she could given what the DOE gave her and her partner to work with. At the time she developed her training materials, the DOE either didn’t know what the GAA would look like or would not say.

    The problem is this: the DOE did NOT make ALL of the 11th grade standards available for use with the GAA. We have to use very specific standards. For instance, many 11th graders are taking British literature. However, WE have to use the standards that specifically cover *American* literature. Ourr 11th graders are taking world history, but the GAA is only allowing us to use AMERICAN history standards.

    Yes, I can use any curriculum I want, but that does not help with the GAA at all, and that is what we’re all worried aout. At this point, we could care less about the curriculum because it’s only the GAA that is effecting the entire school’s AYP.

    Yes, having to take a test is yet another kick in the teeth, especially for veteran teachers like you!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    dick

Comments are closed.

