Re-Doing “A Special Education”

19 Mar

In a prior post, I did a small review of an excerpt of a book A Special Education by Dana Buchman. A couple of things have developed out of those few lines. One is that I happened to hear an interview with Ms. Buchman on the radio program The Satellite Sisters. As a parent, I could identify with much of what she has gone through in raising a child with learning disabilities. Ms. Buchman’s story, as she says, is a narrative of the emotions behind the journey.

The other thing that fell out of my little review was a comment from Ms. Buchman’s publicist offering me a free copy of the book as well as a copy of a book on autism by Stanley Greenspan. As much as I’d love to accept, I’ll have to decline those generous offers. If being anonymous wasn’t such a big deal for my blog, I’d be more tempted. I also still haven’t started reading my signed copy of Robert and Lynn Koegel’s book on pivotal response training!

Dr. Stanley Greenspan will get a post of his own in the future, especially if he gets some sort of buzz going.
From what I’ve gleaned from Ms. Buchman’s excerpt and interview (Nice publicity work, Ms. Warren!) her book will interest parents of young children with disabilities, and may even become a source of inspiration and courage for them. However, it’s important to note that Buchman was (and still is) a woman of considerable means when going through her experience. She could afford a private school, private therapies and interventions. The emotional journey she went through will be recognizable but other experiences may be less universal.

And then I did notice that Liz at I Speak of Dreams linked over and gave it some treatment. Or at least her commenters have. Go on over there and see what she and her readers think. That, as much as anything, prompted me to give a more thorough look at the topic. After doing still more reading on the topic than I ever intended to do, I have decided that Ms. Buchman isn’t quite the publicity hound I might have originally thought. In fact, proceeds from her book are being donated to the National Center for Learning Disabilities. You can read an interview NCLD did with her here. Okay, so I feel like a bit of a flake for snapping to such a quick judgment of a book I haven’t even read. Maybe that first chapter wasn’t the best one to feature, or maybe I have entirely too many personal biases to give her a fair and impartial treatment.

dick

