After Almost a Year…

12 Aug

I am back!  Sort of…

For the past year, I wondered if this blog was one of those things that was keeping me from finding a permanent position.  Someone might be offended by what I write here or perhaps it is just a little bit too candid for many.  But as I was reading my post about discrimination, I realized that squelching my voice is not the answer.  I gave it over 6 months of this blog being private and have nothing to show for it.  Perhaps I am just that bad at interviewing.  Or perhaps there is some other reason.  I have no idea what the reason is that I am not teaching right now, and no one has told me.

 

Last Summer, I interviewed for several positions that seemed perfect, hand-in-glove, to my experience and background.  And I saw at least one of those positions remain unfilled weeks after I had applied.  And this summer I see a repeat of that exact same thing.  There is the expression “better than nothing.”  And I am apparently not even THAT good!  When a school interviews me and then decides to leave the spot vacant rather than hire me, I have a serious, serious problem.  It would be one thing if I was uncertified or unqualified or had no experience or even some devastatingly bad experience.  But none of those things is apparent.  I seem to have a huge blind spot.

SO…waiting for substitute jobs and soul searching is where I am at the moment.  But I think I will write a bit about substituting, and other things as they come up because at least blogging about education makes me feel more productive!  If being an advocate for people with disabilities and speaking out against prejudice makes me undesirable as a special education teacher, than our public school system is truly irredeemable.

3 Responses to “After Almost a Year…”

  1. Erin August 13, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Personally, I’m over the moon that you’re back. As the first blog I EVER read, you’re such an inspiration, and I thank you. Maybe since we’re from the same state (and don’t live too far from each other), we can meet and talk special ed. Would LOVE that. See you soon, Dan!

    • Daniel Dage August 13, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Thank you Erin! It might take a minute to discover my voice again, but thanks for being an inspiration for ME!

  2. Monica Braat August 13, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    It is good to see a new post (or 2) on this board. Like Erin, yours was one of the first education blogs I started reading. Glad to have you back.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

