It’s official!

28 Jul

Today was the first “Official” day of preplanning, and we started off with our annual county SpEd meeting which lasted the entire morning. It’s always nice to see all the teachers, young and old. It’s really the only time that ever happens. I didn’t happen to see any of the other SID/PID teachers but did manage to see a few EX SID/PID teachers.

So many changes in leadership! All the way up and down the chain, there are gobs of changes, which means breaking in an entirely new cadre of people. Most of the new folks aren’t really new so much as promoted from the teaching ranks. For the first time in a long time we’ll have a special education administrator who has actually taught special education. In fact, that is a first for the past 10 years of my career.

I didn’t think it would ever happen, but I am considering trying for some sort of leadership certification. The state has just made the process a lot more difficult, so I’m just considering it for the moment. Actually, just about anything looks appealing. My class roster keeps expanding, courtesy of “school choice.” As it stands now, things are untenable given the staff that I’m assigned. We’re over run with both severity and numbers. I’m not sure how 4 people handle 6 wheelchairs plus a couple other kids who tend to wander off.

In other news, Percy is counting the days until school starts and Thomas is trying to enjoy all the summer he can before he has to go back. The kids go back Aug. 3rd.

2 Responses to “It’s official!”

  1. Erin July 28, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

    A director of special ed that has been a special ed teacher? What a relief! That should serve you well this year. I think you would be excellent with leadership certification. I certainly can see you heading up something somewhere in the vast world of special ed. A change of pace might be good for you, and then who knows? You might actually miss your SID/PID environment and want to come back to it after a few years away! Keep us all posted!

  2. Daniel Dage July 30, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    Actually, I’m talking about a *school administrator* who has been a special ed. teacher. That is really a rarity since most SpEd teachers rarely last the 5 years of experience needed to get that certificate.

    And it might not be the SID/PID environment, per se. It might just be THIS SID/PID environment that is closing in on me. I would totally be up for trying this in a middle school. Imagine having the same teacher all day long, everyday for 7 years. I think more than a few of my kids might be sick of ME!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

